Skip to content

Good feelings

April 25, 2013

Inspired by my friends Sound cloud podcast (https://soundcloud.com/reality-point-zero/reality-point-zero-solobite-1) last week I decided to follow his example and smile and pass the time of day more with strangers on the street. Summary of his podcast is simply to give a great big beaming smile to the people you pass in your daily life (and mean it). It reminded me of the film Pay It Forward (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pay_It_Forward_(film) ) where every good deed you do for someone doesn’t get repaid to you, but instead that person then does a favour for 3 other people. And in this way the good feelings spread and spread some more. It’s true someone smiles at you, you smile back (unless you really are in a foul mood), and it makes you feel better about your day.

How much better do you feel though when it is you that smiles at a stranger and see their smiling response you know that you’ve possibly helped improve their day! And that hopefully in having done that then that person will smile at more people. It’s like a yawn – smiling is contagious. I wish I’d had more conviction though this morning at 6.30 am when I got into the lift in my apartment block and there was already someone in there, I was already to cheerfully say ‘Good Morning, how are you?’ when the guy shot me this look of ‘don’t you dare talk to me, I’ll shoot you down where you stand’, it kind of set me back a little and then that initial opportunity to say hello had gone. I was then laughing to myself all the way down in the lift – problem was he probably needed a good morning more than anyone else I passed on my way to the gym this morning.  There are definitely 2 kinds of people out at that time in the morning – those who are receptive to a hello from a stranger (probably morning people like me) and those that just grunt – but hey some people don’t function too well without coffee at that time!

So the next time someone smiles at you the street, smile back and maybe say hello – it’ll make you feel better!

From → Random

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Jam Kat's Paleo

A paleo recipe sharing site

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

Sin Alcohol

Living without alcohol for 6 months - my journey.

The Nutrition Blueprint

Custom Nutrition Coaching based out of Halifax, NS.

she cooks...he cleans

Real food, gluten-free meals, and eclectic music!

Diets-explained

The HONEST truth about diets & dieting

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

