Skip to content

And Relax…..

May 17, 2013

According to my father – “There’s no such thing as stress”.  While I agree partly with him that “Stress” is an easy answer to why you might be feeling overwhelmed by work (mostly claimed by those with really bad time management in my experience), there are the times when we do truly feel stressed.

Well I’ve had one of ‘those’ weeks – I had an urgent deadline to meet by Tuesday (of next week) for a rather large piece of work that was messed up totally from the beginning and due to office politics made it all worse (client screaming and shouting and about to spit their dummy out of the pram!), and thanks to the luck of the draw, the work ended up on my desk. So if you’re wondering why I’m moaning on a Friday about a deadline the coming Tuesday, here in Canada we have Monday off for Victoria Day, and after this week I could really use the 3 days off! I work for a large organisation with people all over the world, so the person who initiated the work is in India (generally around till 1.30pm my time), the people who run the actual project are in America (in about 3 different locations). So getting information from them proves interesting at times as we rely on electronic communication, as most of these folks are in and out of meetings all day too.

Having listened to my father over the years I’ve been taught always ask questions – “assumption is the mother of all fuck ups’s”  not quite his words but a more favourite saying of mine. Also that when faced with a big challenge, break it down into more manageable chunks and take on a bit at a time, these 2 ways have got me through some projects and challenges that others would have found stressful.

FSurvivorollowing these words of wisdom (and lots of deep breaths) I’ve managed to complete the project but the last few weeks have certainly be ‘trying’, and luckily for me, this evening as part of my nutrition plan I’m having a cheat meal – I’m thinking coconut pancakes with bananas, chocolate and nuts for dessert.

So remember when you’re feeling stressed – it’s only desserts spelt backwards!

From → Random

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Jam Kat's Paleo

A paleo recipe sharing site

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

Sin Alcohol

Living without alcohol for 6 months - my journey.

The Nutrition Blueprint

Custom Nutrition Coaching based out of Halifax, NS.

she cooks...he cleans

Real food, gluten-free meals, and eclectic music!

Diets-explained

The HONEST truth about diets & dieting

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

