Skip to content

Car Rental (mini) Rant

June 6, 2013

My parents are over from the UK for the next couple of weeks, and as I don’t have a car, they’ve rented one so we can go on a mini-Maritimes road trip next week. Ever since I passed my driving test I’ve become a bit of a bad passenger for long car journeys, something to do with not being in control (maybe I am a control freak), because I’m fine travelling backwards on a train, flying – not an issue, but then I can’t fly a plane or drive a train! So I asked my dad if he could put me as a name driver on the car too. Off he went and rang up the car rental people, and came back and said a great big NO! It was going to cost an awful lot of money to add me – the reason why – because I had a Canadian drivers licence now not a UK one. 

Hang on – doesn’t that mean I’ll be more likely to know what I’m doing on the roads here than them?? (Please note I did say “more likely” instead of a definite “know” as all I had to do was surrender my UK licence for the Canadian one!). 

So I just asked my dad that when they pick up the car here they casually ask to add my name to it, sent him a copy of my licence etc. They arrived yesterday, and my first question after all the “Have you had a good flight” etc are out of the way – “Can I drive the car?”. Woo hoo – good news – I can, and how much did it cost extra – nada, nothing, zip, zero!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Jam Kat's Paleo

A paleo recipe sharing site

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

Sin Alcohol

Living without alcohol for 6 months - my journey.

The Nutrition Blueprint

Custom Nutrition Coaching based out of Halifax, NS.

she cooks...he cleans

Real food, gluten-free meals, and eclectic music!

Diets-explained

The HONEST truth about diets & dieting

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

