Skip to content

Mud Hero Run

July 6, 2013

I love setting myself a challenge, in the past I’ve done charity bike rides, swimathons (when I was a kid), and the last big one in 2008 was the Yorkshire 3 peaks challenge – a 26 mile walk climbing 3 very big hills/mountains in under 12 hours!

Having not done anything since 2011 I decided it was time to find another challenge. Along came the Mud Hero event – perfect! 6km course with 16 obstacles. The obstacles were things like cargo nets to climb, walls with either ropes to pull yourself up or the slightly easier option of hand holds; watery/mud pits with logs over the top to crawl/swim under; old wrecked cars to climb over; inflatable slides etc.

I told my trainer a few months ago what I was thinking of doing and if he could help target my exercises towards getting me through the obstacles. My aim was to complete them, running I wasn’t bothered about.

MeAfter (1)

Well today was the day, and boy was it warm out there. I’m still amazed at people though – we’ve had a fair bit of rain here in Nova Scotia over the last few weeks so you’d be thinking that the grassy fields at Ski Martock might be a touch soft under foot. People still screamed and squealed when they had to run through some mud just round the corner from the start line – c’mon people it’s a Mud event!! Jeez!

Since I’ve been working out in the gym my upper body strength has increased quite a lot (as well as my leg strength) and boy did I need it today. Pulling myself up and over the walls and out of tunnels almost seemed easy – well compared to how hard some people were making it look. Then the evil course designers decided that the ski slopes would make for a good course route – wow that was steep for a while, and yes while your thighs are burning we’ll throw in another wall to climb!

 

I may only have run for about 2 out of the 6 kms, I did clear all 16 obstacles – goal achieved! Next year – well we’ll see what next year or the next challenge holds!

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Jam Kat's Paleo

A paleo recipe sharing site

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

Sin Alcohol

Living without alcohol for 6 months - my journey.

The Nutrition Blueprint

Custom Nutrition Coaching based out of Halifax, NS.

she cooks...he cleans

Real food, gluten-free meals, and eclectic music!

Diets-explained

The HONEST truth about diets & dieting

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

