Skip to content

Experiments with Meatloaf

January 22, 2014

It’s been a while since I’ve had a good play in the kitchen, a friend sent me this recipe Sundried Tomato Pesto, Bacon wrapped Meatloaf Rounds a few days ago. Meatloaf wasn’t a staple food growing up, so I haven’t had much experience of it. But I love Pesto, and how can you resist anything that’s wrapped in bacon? And having bought a freezer full of ground meat a month ago, I’m looking for lots more ideas of how to cook it.

One thing I’m not a fan of though is sundried tomatoes. A few years ago I did come across a recipe for a roasted red pepper pesto though. So I figured time to experiment with pesto 🙂

Image

Don’t they look so neat!

Red Pepper Pesto 1

Into a blender/mini chopper I put

  • Piquillo Peppers
  • Basil
  • Olive oil
  • Parmesan
  • Salt
  • Dollop of Almond Butter (to add a bit of sweetness)

I blitzed it up till it was quite a runny consistency, it was a little on the sharp side, but I figured with it going into another part of a recipe this would be ok. I followed the recipe above but used 1lb of Lamb as the meat instead of beef and veal, and I used 2 rashers of bacon. I think I’ve found a new winter comfort food.

Red Pepper Pesto 2

  • Piquillo Peppers
  • Dill Pickles
  • Kale
  • Olive oil
  • Parmesan
  • Salt
  • A larger dollop of almond butter than from Pesto 1 (about a tbsp this time as I put in the pickles I figured it was going to be a lot sharper!)

Once blitzed up the mixture wasn’t as runny because of the kale in it, but I think I could have added a few more slices of pickles to it, as the flavour of the pickles came through in the meatloaf, but not enough, would have tasted better with more pickles. (Yes I love the taste of dill pickles This time I made the meatloaf with a mixture of beef and pork, very yummy. As you can see in the photo I only used 1 rasher of bacon this time and they all came apart a bit.

Image

Dinner is served

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Jam Kat's Paleo

A paleo recipe sharing site

Theme Showcase

Find the perfect theme for your blog.

Sin Alcohol

Living without alcohol for 6 months - my journey.

The Nutrition Blueprint

Custom Nutrition Coaching based out of Halifax, NS.

she cooks...he cleans

Real food, gluten-free meals, and eclectic music!

Diets-explained

The HONEST truth about diets & dieting

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

